A place steeped in history…

Dating back to the 18th century

Built at the beginning of the 18th century, the Moulin de la Récense has become an emblematic place in Provence, marked by the imprint of time and more than 300 years of history. Originally, we used to make an oil called “recense” obtained by extracting olive pomace, already pressed. A fabulous oil used to make candles and traditional Marseille soaps.

Then, in the early 1970s, the Moulin de la Récense was acquired by the Bousquet family. A new story begins. A love story, first of all. And of patience. A long period of work then follows in order to restore the building to all its splendor and rediscover its primary vocation: to welcome and gather.

Today, visitors say they feel good there. Is it the crossing of the ages that has invested the Moulin with such a soul? We like to think that it is the happy events that have been celebrated there for over 15 years that give it a special atmosphere.

The Spaces

A park and 400m2 indoors

Line with three hundred year old plane trees, the Moulin de la Récense is located in the heart of a wooded park of more than two hectares.

The Great Vaulted Room

Typical of 18th century Provencal architecture, the large vaulted hall used to house the presses of the mill. Each architectural element – including the old millstone – is subtly highlighted. The large vaults of this main room sublimate the receptions with a particular cachet, while the polished concrete on the floor brings a contemporary style to the space. In this room you can dine with 120 guests while keeping a dance floor.

The Wheel Room

The gigantic paddle wheel which, for three centuries, supplied the Moulin with its energy, dominates the room and gives it a monumental, spectacular character.
The interior lightings enhance the architectural aspect of the wheel, while exterior lighting reveals the discreet presence of the surrounding garden.
Ideal place for aperitif or buffets, this room welcomes 120 people pleasantly for a cocktail or a secular ceremony under cover, and in complete privacy.

The Partners

The best professionals at your service

Our renowned partners

Florists, rental companies, officiants, DJs, photographers or videographers… The Moulin de la Récense has been a partner of the most talented professionals in the south of France for over 15 years. Each year, these experienced professionals meet at the Ouiding festival, an alternative Festival about wedding, imagined and created by the Moulin de la Récense.

So, by getting married at the Moulin de la Récense, you will benefit from a unique address book, but also advice and recommendations to make this day an unforgettable moment.

Un lieu chargé
d’histoire…

Datant du
XVIIIème siècle

Construit au début du XVIIIème siècle, le Moulin de la Récense est devenu un lieu emblématique en Provence, marqué par l’empreinte du temps et plus de 300 ans d’histoire. Originellement, on y fabriquait une huile dite de « récense » obtenue par l’extraction du marc d’olives, déjà pressées. Une huile fabuleuse qui servait à la fabrication de bougies et de savons traditionnels de Marseille.

Puis, au début des années 1970, le Moulin de la Récense est acquit par la famille Bousquet. Une nouvelle histoire commence. Une histoire d’amour, tout d’abord. Puis de patience. S’en suit alors une longue période d’ouvrage afin de rendre à la bâtisse toute sa superbe et retrouver sa vocation première : accueillir et rassembler.

Aujourd’hui, les visiteurs disent s’y sentir bien. Est-ce la traversée des âges qui a investi le Moulin d’une telle âme ? Nous, nous aimons penser que ce sont les événements heureux que l’on y célèbre depuis plus de 15 ans qui lui confèrent une atmosphère particulière.

Les Espaces

Un parc et 400m2 en intérieur

Bordé de platanes tricentenaires, le Moulin de la Récense se situe en plein coeur d’un parc arboré de plus de deux hectares.

La grande salle Voûtée

Typique de l’architecture provençale du 18ème siècle, la grande salle voutée regroupait à l’époque les presses du Moulin. Chaque élément architectural – dont l’ancienne meule – y est subtilement mis en valeur. Les grandes voutes de cette salle principale subliment les réceptions d’un cachet particulier, tandis que le béton ciré au sol apporte un style contemporain à l’espace. Dans cette salle vous pourrez diner avec 120 convives tout en conservant une piste de danse.

La salle de la Roue

La gigantesque roue à aubes qui, pendant trois siècles, fournissait au Moulin son énergie, domine la salle et lui donne un caractère monumental, spectaculaire.
Les éclairages intérieurs, soignés, subliment l’aspect architectural de la roue tandis qu’un éclairage extérieur révèle la présence discrète du jardin alentour.
Lieu idéal pour les apéritifs ou les buffets, cette salle accueille agréablement 120 personnes pour un cocktail ou une cérémonie laïque à l’abri, et en toute intimité.

Les Partenaires

Les meilleurs professionnels à votre service

Des Partenaires de renom

Fleuristes, loueurs, officiantes, DJ, photographes ou vidéastes… Le Moulin de la Récense est partenaire des professionnels les plus talentueux du sud de la France depuis plus de 15 ans. Chaque année, ces prestataires chevronnés se réunissent au Ouiding festival, un Festival alternatif autour du mariage, imaginé et créé par le Moulin de la Récense.

Ainsi, en vous mariant au Moulin de la Récense, vous bénéficier d’un carnet d’adresses unique, mais aussi de conseils et de recommandations pour faire de ce jour, un moment inoubliable, à votre image.